Document Properties: Server

On this tab define certain aspects of the document's behavior when run on a QlikView Server.

Refresh Mode when Document is Updated on Server

This setting defines how an updated document on the QlikView Server will be handled.

Client initiates refresh. If old data not kept in server or client too old, session will be disconnected. Choose this option if the server should never initiate a refresh of data in the client automatically. When a new version of the document becomes available on the server, the client will be offered to refresh according to the preferences set under Client Refresh Initiation Mode below. If this is not possible, because the server is set with Allow only one copy of document in memory enabled in the QlikView Server control panel, the session will simply be terminated.
Client initiates refresh. If old data not kept in server or client too old, refresh will be performed automatically Choose this option if it is preferred to let the client initiate a refresh of data in the client when possible but will allow server to initiate a refresh automatically if necessary. When a new version of the document becomes available on the server, the client will be offered to refresh according to the preferences set under Client Refresh Initiation Mode below. If this is not possiblebecause the server is set with Allow only one copy of document in memory enabled in the QlikView Server control panel, the refresh will be performed automatically by the server.
Server performs refresh automatically, without client action This is the option to choose if you prefer to always let the server initiate a refresh of data in the client automatically. When a new version of the document becomes available on the server, the data in the client will be refreshed.

Client Refresh Initiation Mode

This setting defines how the client should be notified of the availability of new data on the server and initiate a refresh. This setting is only valid when client initiated refresh has been selected in Refresh Mode when Document is Updated on Server (see above).

Indicate with toolbar button The availability of new data is indicated by the Refresh button in the toolbar turning green and being enabled (and the corresponding File menu command being enabled). The availability of new data will not be indicated unless the user is interacting with a visualization. The refresh is performed at a time of the user's choice by clicking on the toolbar button or by means of the File menu Refresh command.
Prompt with dialog In addition to the Refresh button in the toolbar turning green, the availability of new data will be indicated by a prompt dialog. The availability of new data will not be indicated unless the user is interacting with a visualization. In the dialog the user may choose between immediate refresh or wait, in which case the refresh can be performed at any later time of the user's choice by clicking on the toolbar button or by means of the File menu Refresh command.
Just do it but tell the user it is happening The refresh will be initiated as soon as the server indicates that new data is available. A dialog will be shown to indicate that the refresh is taking place.
Just do it The refresh will be initiated as soon as the server indicates that new data is available. No dialog will be shown to indicate that the refresh is taking place. The user will experience a document "freeze" lasting from fractions of a second up to minutes depending on server settings and size of document.

Server Objects

The settings in this group make it possible to disable the clients' ability to create and share certain entities when running the document on QlikView Server. Please note that it is possible to disable all types of collaboration objects for all documents on a server by disabling the Allow Server Collaboration setting in the QlikView Server control panel. That setting overrides the settings below.

Allow Server Bookmarks This check box must be enabled, if remote clients are to be allowed to create and share bookmarks with this document on the QlikView Server. Additionally, Allow Server Objects must be enabled.
Allow Server Objects This check box must be enabled, if remote clients are to be allowed to create and share sheet objects with this document on the QlikView Server.
Allow Server Reports This check box must be enabled, if remote clients are to be allowed to create and share reports with this document on the QlikView Server.

OEM Product ID

The settings in this group make it possible to add an OEM Product ID to the document. The OEM Product ID helps ensure that only OEM customers can open the document. This option is only available with an OEM Partner License.

See: Add OEM Product ID

OEM Product ID Select OEM Product ID from the drop-down list.

QlikView Server Timeouts

If a document is published on a QlikView server, it could be a good idea to set a maximum session time for security purposes and have the server terminate sessions that are inactive or too long. The settings at the bottom of this page allows this to be set on a document level. Hence, it is possible to have harder restrictions for documents with sensitive data than for other documents.

Corresponding settings are also found on the server side, valid for all published documents. The more restrictive of the two settings will be used.

Maximum Inactive Session Time (seconds) This check box enables an inactive session timeout, i.e. the Server will terminate a session where the user has not clicked in a given time. The length of the inactive session timeout is set in seconds.
Maximum Total Session Time (seconds) This check box enables a total session timeout, i.e. the Server will terminate a session after a given time, regardless of whether the user has clicked or not. The length of the total session timeout is set in seconds.
Enable Push from Server Mark this check box if the Server should allow graceful document refresh.
Enable Dynamic Data Update Mark this check box if the Server should allow dynamic updates in a document.
Filter AccessPoint Document List Based on Section Access

When this option is enabled, users will only see those documents in the document list on the AccessPoint and in Open in Server, he or she has access to based on section access, in addition to other access rights. Note that those names present in the NTNAME column in section access will be saved as clear text in the qvw file, however, no passwords will be saved.

Note: Even when this option is enabled, the AccessPoint may in some cases list documents that the user does not have access to based on Section Access. This is because of how the Section Access functionality works. However, the user can only see such documents, not open them.

Did this information help you?

Thanks for letting us know. Is there anything you'd like to tell us about this topic?

Can you tell us why it did not help you and how we can improve it?